Posted by: Matthew Webster | October 26, 2008

Always Being Ready

1 Peter 3:15: ” But sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, and be always ready to give an answer to everyone who asks you a reason for the hope that is in you.”

For the second straight week (not consecutive days in a row) I wore my Pick Jesus sweatshirt.  Both times I had people stop me to tell me that they liked my shirt.  In the past I had kind of been leery about wearing religious type shirts- mainly because they are hooky or too in your face.  However, this made me stop to think a bit.  With wearing this shirt there is a level of accountability build in that holds me accountable for my actions.  People know I am a Christian and I better act like one.  Often when I am wearing the shirt I forgot I have it on. 

It is also important to point out that people are observant and they noticed our actions probably as much as they noticed the shirt we have on.

Another thing that happen in regards to always being ready is that I received a message at 6:45 in the morning that I would be preaching the sermon this Sunday.  I am in between services right now–so far so good.  However, I truly believe the message God wanted me to preach today was a divine appointment.  We never know when these divine opportunities will present themselves.  What we do know is that we must always, always, always be ready.


Leave a comment

Categories